Hee-Young Yang, First LPGA Major Win of Her Life First Win of the Season by a Korean Player

First win by a Korean player in the 16th tournament of the season, 6 wins overall on the LPGA Tour Paris Olympics hopeful

Yang Hee-young won the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship (total prize money of $10.4 million), a major tournament on the LPGA Tour, becoming the first Korean player to win this season.

Yang Hee-young hit an even par 72 with 5 birdies, 1 double bogey, and 3 bogeys in the final 4th round of the tournament held at the Sahalee Country Club (par 72) in Seomamish, Washington, USA on the 24th (Korean time).

With this, she recorded a final total of 7 under par, 281 strokes, and won by three strokes over Jinyoung Ko, Lilia Bu (USA), who tied for second place, and Miyu Yamashita (Japan, 4 under par, 284 strokes).

Yang Hee-young, who achieved her sixth win on the LPGA Tour in seven months since the CME Group Tour Championship in November last year, experienced the joy of being at the top of a major tournament for the first time in her life.

Her previous best major results were runner-up finishes at the 2012 and 2015 US Women’s Open. 파워볼사이트

Her win also boosts her chances of qualifying for the 2024 Paris Olympics, which opens in July. Yang Hee-young, who is currently ranked 25th in the women’s golf world rankings, is likely to move into the top 15 by winning this tournament.

Yang Hee-young is aiming to compete in her second Olympics following the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics. The women’s golf competition at the Paris Olympics will determine the players based on the world rankings as of the 24th after the competition ends. A country can have up to four players in the top 15 in the world rankings, and currently, Korea has two players in the top 15: Ko Jin-young, ranked 7th, and Kim Hyo-ju, ranked 12th. This win by Yang Hee-young, born in 1989, broke the winless streak of Korean players that had lasted for 15 tournaments since the LPGA tour opened in the 2024 season. The last major championship won by a Korean player was before this tournament in 2022. 한국야동